Tag: Berger

first_imgThe initial board members have been announced for Efficiency Nova Scotia Corporation, the province’s new independent administrator to help Nova Scotians reduce energy use. William Lahey, Hector Jacques, Carol MacCulloch, and Michele Wood-Tweel were appointed to the board today, Jan. 26. “We are fortunate these highly qualified and accomplished individuals have agreed to serve on the board,” said Bill Estabrooks, Minister responsible for Conserve Nova Scotia. “These individuals bring a wealth of experience to the table, and I am confident they will serve the board and Nova Scotians well.” Mr. Lahey will serve as the chair. Environment deputy minister Nancy Vanstone has been appointed as a non-voting board member. “I am honoured to have been recommended as board chair for this important new corporation,” said Mr. Lahey. “Efficiency Nova Scotia is critical to ensuring the lowest possible electricity rates in the future, while helping Nova Scotians use less energy and save money on their power bills.” The initial board of directors has been appointed for a term of two years. Under the Efficiency Nova Scotia Corporation Act, the board has the ability to select up to six additional directors. Before the board announcement, legislation to create Efficiency Nova Scotia was proclaimed today. Efficiency Nova Scotia is being created after an extensive 2008 consultation process chaired by David Wheeler, who was dean of Dalhousie University’s faculty of management. “Stakeholders and experts confirmed that best practice internationally now requires an independent entity for energy conservation, and I am very pleased to see government accepted our recommendations,” said Mr. Wheeler. “Nova Scotians will have a single access point for energy-efficiency programs, and I am confident the new board will succeed in fulfilling this mandate.” More information, including biographies and a backgrounder, is available online at http://www.conservens.ca/EfficiencyNovaScotia.asp .last_img read more